If you’re convicted of a second DUI in Georgia, the consequences could be severe. You may face fines, jail sentences and lose your license – all on top of an unpleasant misdemeanor charge added to your record.
Driving a vehicle with a BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of .08% or higher is a crime in the state of Georgia 0.02 if you are under 21, and 0.04 if you are a commercial driver. It is possible to receive a one-year sentence in prison and a $1000 fine for a second DUI within ten years from the first conviction. Upon a second DUI conviction within 10 years of a prior DUI conviction, Putnam County’s penalties are compounded, and the judge has less discretion.
Is only a skilled second DUI criminal defense lawyer who can evaluate your case and guide you through a defense process that will adequately protect you.
Second DUI Penalties in Georgia
In Greene County, a second offense DUI (Driving Under the Influence) is considered a misdemeanor and is punishable by the following penalties:
- Jail time: A second DUI conviction in Greene County can result in a jail sentence of up to one year.
- Fines: A person convicted of a second DUI in Greene County may be required to pay a fine of up to $1,000.
- License suspension: They may have their driver’s license suspended for a minimum of three years.
- Community service: A person convicted of a second DUI may be required to perform community service for a specified period of time.
- Alcohol education and treatment: They may be required to attend an alcohol education and treatment program.
- Ignition interlock device: A person convicted of a second DUI may be required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle.
- Increased insurance premiums: A person convicted of a second DUI may see their insurance premiums increase significantly.
- Criminal record: A second DUI conviction in Greene County will result in a criminal record, which can have negative consequences for employment and other areas of a person’s life.
- Increased difficulty in obtaining future loans or employment: A person convicted of a second DUI in Greene County may find it more difficult to obtain loans or employment in the future.
It’s important to note that these penalties are the minimum penalties, and a court may impose additional penalties based on the circumstances of your case. For example, if your DUI resulted in an accident or injury to another person, you may face more severe penalties.
Keep in mind that these consequences can vary depending on the specific circumstances of your case and the judge’s discretion: a DUI conviction can have long-term impacts on your life, including difficulties finding employment and obtaining credit.
You Do Not Have To Suffer Punishments
Michael Fulcher Law is a trusted advocate when it comes to those facing second DUI charges in Green County. With insider knowledge of the county’s police, prosecutors and judges, Michael takes on cases armed with the experience necessary for understanding how each court handles such offenses; enabling him to aid clients by avoiding or minimizing any potential penalties they may face.
Contact Michael Fulcher Today
Call or email to schedule a free consultation today. Don’t delay. There are strict, non-waivable time constraints to fight to retain your driving privileges and maintain all of your defenses. You don’t want to let those deadlines pass.